Lifestyle · prayer

When God Answers Prayers

Wow, it’s been 17 days since I last posted and to give you guys an update on life for me lately, it’s been; fun, adventurous, inspiring, engaging, joyful, and happy! I have so much to report on, but I’ll try to keep it within a limit because it’s late at night and I need some sleep for another big day ahead! Complete with errands to run, jobs to apply to and a housemate homemade dinner and games night!! (Yes, that’s right, we make nights fun in our humble abode).

The city I moved to is a place called Brisbane and it’s like the third largest city in Australia. It’s basically like a city, that then branches out into all these surrounding leafy suburbs. I don’t even know how many suburbs there are, but probably more than 50. I live in a really cute hilly suburb about a 10 minute drive to the city. So it’s the perfect balance between peaceful and being just close enough to the city for the city life.

I never thought I was the city type, until I moved here, and i absolutely love it! There is so much opportunity here, and fun things to do and get involved in! I feel like I’ve grown as a person within the last week, because I am beginning to engage again with my interests and passions too. I love being independent and available for God to guide me too. It sure is a bigger place than my usual coastal living stomping ground, but I relish the fact that God is doing so much with my life again and I am able to move around to different parts of the country and engage with different groups of people.

In this season of my life, God has totally restored a lot of joy back into my life, and I feel like the same confident, social, loving person I am again. It is really quite a contrast to how I was last year, but as they say, sometimes we have to experience hard times to appreciate the good ones, and I am certainly celebrating this victory!  I’ve always had the desire to live with other Christian girls in their 20s who have the same personalities, and God has answered my prayers and blessed me with Jessee and Ashleigh who are both the sweetest housemates, who encourage my walk in faith, and who also make time to invest in a friendship. Thanks God! It is definitely a comfort to know the people you live with share the same values as you.

He hasn’t only just answered my prayers either, but the prayers of my sister who is also now moving to Brisbane, close to me, to study her honours at University in Anthropology. Which is certainly exciting to have her living in the same city! I have a few old friends here who I have reconnected with too, and enjoyed hikes in nature and coffee in cafes. It has been so marvellous to spend time investing in them and growing that friendship. It definitely gives me the confidence in knowing that when God told me ‘You have to move to Brisbane’ that I obeyed, and just did it. It was a little hard given the fact I had friends back at my old church, but other than that, I knew my life back there was done. I was ready for a new chapter in my story to begin and I’m so excited for what God is doing!

Have you ever felt the same? Have you heard God saying you needed to make a change. Were you hesitant at first? Did you end up obeying that call, or did you choose to stick to your comfort zone? I’ve been there, I’ve settled for less, and I’ve doubted God’s big plan for me. But trust this… God has a PLAN, he knows what your needs are, and he knows what will positively impact your growth. Just have a bit of faith, and wait for God’s miracles to happen!

I picked out a few of my favourite scriptures to help encourage you when you pray to God:

John 15:7 “If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.”

First John 5:14-15 “And this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us. And if we know that he hears us in whatever we ask, we know that we have the requests that we have asked of him.”

Psalm 66:19 “But truly God has listened; he has attended to the voice of my prayer.”

Psalm 118:21 “I will give you thanks, for you answered me; you have become my salvation.”

Mark 11:24 “Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

