Glowing Up From A Breakup

An American guy broke my heart 9 months ago.

Feels weird to state that now, as a fully healed and thriving (aka) loving life again Australian girl.

I was reflecting on that today and his chapter in my life story and how that heartbreak was actually meant to happen to bring about emotional and spiritual growth in me and also him I hope.

It taught me a lot about self value and not putting someone on a pedestal, even when they did come across ‘God like’ at one point in time. I had become too invested, too obsessed, too consumed and that was my downfall.

I learnt that sometimes God takes away the very things we desire the most so that our attention gets redirected to God again.

I learnt through this that no matter how handsome this gentleman was, he was still flawed. No matter how charming, he still hurt me and it just went to show that everyone is human and no one is exempt from being a person who makes mistakes.

In the 9 months since my heart was shattered, I did a lot of inner work. I focused on work and goals. I made new friends and invested in my quality time with my housemates. I made a new house I moved into cosy, and it helped me to plant myself back fully in Australia instead of having my physical body in Australia and my heart over in America.

I was growing in all areas of my life and I didn’t even realise until now. It was subconscious glowing up. A post-traumatic growth healing. I looked at photos spanning that time frame and couldn’t believe the transformation.

I was way more confident in myself and it showed. The joy that eminated from myself now was contagious. I was beaming again, but brighter than I ever had before. Because I had grown wiser and stronger. I was set free from idolising a person and instead I was learning self love.

I was putting in the time and the energy to myself and with God’s help, I was getting closer to being the woman he envisioned me to grow into. I knew my worth and I wouldn’t let anyone determine it again.

Heartbreak isn’t the end of a story, it’s only the beginning. I’ve had a few, and each time I bounce back better than I was before. Ready to take on the world again as a new woman. That’s why instead of cursing one we should be celebrating it.

Only when a heart breaks, can it be opened for God to do a work in it. I wouldn’t have the inner strength and the lessons I’ve learnt now if it weren’t for the disappointment. And I too believe it is the same for the guy in this scenerio. His heartbreak has probably made him a better person out of it too.

So the next time you may be going through your own dark times, just remember that it gets better. You always learn and grow from experiences, good and bad. So you may as well buckle up and enjoy the ride.

Leave a comment