Re-setting for the New Year

So here we are yet again, another year, another resolution. 

But before I go into planning the new year, I wanted to recap the exciting moments of 2022 coming to a close.

I took two weeks off work for a well deserved break over Christmas. This was a time of connecting with family, friends, resting, hiking, swimming, and just enjoying my holidays.

I had some family fly in from interstate with my 7 year old cousin visiting, which was such a treat to see a child again at Christmas functions as they make the day so much more festive and joyful.

Our Christmas Day went smoothly, with cold meats and salads expected of an Aussie Summer. I was in charge of organising the Secret Santa and thankfully no one wanted to swap their gifts. My sister and her fiance were there and it was also a treat having her soon to be husband welcomed into our family ( she even brought along her adorable Kelpie dog Lillee to join in all the fun). 

After Christmas I made a conscious decision to not let that week between Christmas and New Years go to waste. I organised fun things to do each day with the quality time I had with Mum. Everything from going to see the new Avatar movie to hiking mountains with glorious sunsets, going to lunch, bodyboarding in the ocean, and I made these heavenly avocado icecream popsicals that were to die for! The perfect blend of creamy avocado and condensed coconut milk! 

By the time NYE came around we were exhausted and opted to stay home for the evening with a homecooked meal on the Weber BBQ and watching the Sydney fireworks on the TV. Preferring to instead celebrate and go out for a nice seafood dinner at the Surf Club the next day. 

After my week at the coast with Mum I went back home to the city to recuperate before back to work. I got on top of my chores, meal prepped healthy lunches, got a massage from a Thai masseuse at a day spa, and went to the stage production of Mary Poppins. 

I also reflected on 2022 and the things I wanted to improve, one of the biggest being not to put too much on my plate this year. Last year I felt burnt out, juggling full time work, hosting at church, small group, studying online, and I didn’t allow myself to be mindful or practice self care.

So I am committing to doing that this year first and foremost. Ideas like having short breaks between work, sipping a tea while reading a relaxing magazine, catching up on reading books I’ve put off, going for more walks in nature, and taking a bath now and then.

I’ve also started (trying) to meal prep well using healthy ingredients for recipes and even bought these amazing little plastic containers the perfect size for dishing out yoghurt with berries and crackers with dip etc for light snacks at work.

I think we get so caught up with being strict with resolutions though and I don’t want to fall into the pit of guilt if I am not meeting my expectations each day of every week. Rather, I would just like some nice goals and motivations to keep myself somewhat in a good habit and mindset so I am moving forward becoming the best version of myself I can be.

Maybe you also have some resolutions you are working towards, and would like to share in the comments. Otherwise, Happy New Year for 2023 everyone! I have a feeling it’s going to be a great year. 

Highlights for 2023 I am looking forward to:

My 31st Birthday

Mum’s 60th Birthday
Europe trip! 
My sisters wedding in November  💍 

Hiking Emu Mountain at sunset
Delicious pavlova is an Aussie favourite at Christmas!
My sister’s beautiful kelpie dog Lillee!

Leave a comment