Paradise on Earth – Fraser Trip

This weekend just gone was just incredible. I went away on a long weekend trip with some of my best mates to Fraser Island to go camping and generally enjoy time in nature.

When I tell you it was paradise on earth, I am not joking! I felt so close to God the whole trip, just being in awe of his creation and everything He created. So many moments of pure bliss and joy, it felt magical.

A few moments that will stand out for me were when we decided as a group to walk to the beach at night and when we turned off all of our torches, we could look up and see the beautiful night sky blanketed with billions of stars and the Milky Way. It was so clear and so beautiful, no wonder why people wrote poems, and songs about the stars guiding their way.

Soon after, we dipped our feet in the water, and there were these tiny glowing specks that appeared and apparently they are called illuminating bacteria. I managed to catch one in my hand and shine the torch on it and it looked just like a bit of clear jelly on my finger.

But the magic didn’t stop there, walking back to our campsite, we saw a dingo run away holding a rabbit or fish in its mouth, that it had just hunted. It was incredible seeing this right before our eyes.

Also on the trip, we ran up a dune at midnight, and had d and m’s, roasted marshmallows over the fire, used a solar panel as a makeshift table for our bbq, played beach cricket at sunset, watched whales playing in the ocean, sped down the sandy shores in 4-wheel-drives, swam at Lake McKenzie. And then there was this moment just for myself and God where I walked out onto a sandbar and lay there letting the waves crash over me, and the sun sink into my skin, the whole time hearing the ‘Paradise’ chorus by Coldplay.

It made me realise and appreciate how blessed we are to live in such a beautiful country. Australia is not only beautiful, but it is our home, and I had a new appreciation for its beauty that weekend. Also, how blessed I am to have such amazing friends who are like family to me, and to be able to bond with new people instantly who have now become new friends. There is nothing better than meeting new people that show you different sides to yourself. Hours of talking and laughing together was truly the medicine I needed in life.

This trip was the perfect chance to just reset my mindset, escape the busy city life, and prioritise nature, time with God, and self care. Absolute bliss! If you have been tossing up whether to take a trip, take this as your sign to head out on the road! You won’t regret experiencing these heavenly moments.

Leave a comment