Easter In Melbourne

I recently returned home from a family trip to Melbourne ( did bring home a cold, thankfully not Covid!) and had the most wonderful time.

Being a Queenslander through and through though, I have always looked at Victoria as a so-so state. I hate the cold and I found Melbourne to be too busy for me in the past. But on this trip, as I too was older as well, I could appreciate it for it’s beauty, it’s Autumn colours, and it’s vibrant lifestyle.

Melbourne is a happening metropolitan city, marked by the contrast of old Victorian home architecture, native bushland and it’s never ending supply of amazing food and coffee and vintage op shops. Fitzroy – Melbourne’s artsy suburb- is now one of my favourite parts of the city where I was able to people watch from a cafe window, as I indulged in a delicious brewed chai and toasted roast beef sandwich. I also picked up some amazing jackets from a vintage store that were 50% off, and ventured to some quirky and cool bars.

Along with Fitzroy, I made my way around the CBD visiting the State Library where they showcase Ned Kelly’s armour, went to the NGV (National Gallery of Victoria) for the Coco Chanel exhibit, and I went to see the ballet/musical ‘An American in Paris’ at the State Theatre.

The intention for the trip was not solely entertainment though, it was to celebrate the engagement of my sister to her partner of a decade, and celebrate the build of their new house out in the countryside. My sister and her fiancé are avid rock climbers and they spend most of their downtime climbing or camping. My sister has also adopted a beautiful Kelpie dog called Lillee, who tags along on all of the adventures too.

The countryside in itself is magical, we saw some amazing boulder structures that are hundreds of years old, and because the weather was cold, I was able to wear coats and boots, and feast my eyes on the vibrant oranges, yellows and fiery reds of Autumn trees (something I don’t get in my city)

On Easter Sunday I went to a morning service at the St Paul’s Anglican Cathedral in the city, and listened to beautiful choir harmonising with the organ. Then watched the priests walk down the aisle splashing people with rosemary dipped in water. Being mostly Baptist Christian, this is a service I am unfamiliar with, but enjoyed thoroughly for Easter Sunday. There were lots of people gathered there, and a news station out the front covering the event of people being able to gather after such a long hiatus of not attending these events due to Covid lockdowns.

Throughout the whole trip I had a renewed sense of admiration for God the Creator. Being appreciative of the family I have, and the laughter and adventures we shared in. For the nature I was able to enjoy, for the foods, smells and sights I experienced. Especially for the Shrine of Remembrance I visited in the Botanic Gardens which commemorates the fallen soldiers in the War, our ANZACS- Australian heroes. It will be Anzac Day tomorrow, and it’s a day where we as Australians celebrate our freedoms, and our fallen heroes. We bake Anzac biscuits, and attend Dawn Services where they play ‘The Last Post’ on trumpets and bagpipes, and we take a minute silence, before we have our meals at RSL clubs. It’s an event that I am proud of especially as I have family that have served in the war – my own grandfather was a Doctor in the Australian Navy in the Vietnam War.

We are lucky here in this country and it’s something I never forget, we are spoiled by the beauty of our oceans, mountains, cities and beaches. I am thankful to God for all that I have been blessed with when others are not so fortunate. I pray for those that are suffering, and for the War in Ukraine/Russia. What a different Easter it is for them. May the Lord be with them, for the innocent people in this to be safe and protected from harm.

I pray that you and your family had a lovely Easter, whatever part of the World you come from, and that like myself, you also experienced a time of joy, hope, and love over the Easter break with family and friends.

Leave a comment